My Old Enemy

Ladies and Jellyspoons, I would like to introduce you to my old nemesis, the Mohawk turn.  You use it to turn from forwards to backwards and back again.  If you do it right, it looks a little bit like this:

I don’t do it right.

The way I currently do it involves skating along the wall, putting my weight on my right skate, turning my upper body to face backwards, forgetting to keep my knees bent, leaning against the wall, jerkily picking up my left skate, sticking out my booty in a vain attempt at balance, clumsily and quickly putting my left skate down, putting my weight on it so I am going backwards, then panicking that I am now actually going backwards and stopping with a freaked-out look on my face.

The way I am working on doing it is this: skating along the wall, putting my weight on my right skate, turning my upper body to face backwards, forgetting to keep my knees bent, leaning against the wall, jerkily picking up my left skate, sticking out my booty in a vain attempt at balance, and clumsily and quickly putting my left skate down and putting my weight on it so I am going backwards, then panicking that I am now actually going backwards and stopping with a freaked-out look on my face.

So, I have lots of things to learn NOT to do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Old Enemy

  1. Lisa says:

    I cannot make my hips turn out like that for love or money! I’m working really hard on getting this, though! Keep it up and let me know anymore tricks you figure out.

  2. L. Crampton says:

    Oh, such fun. You’re inspiring me, Robin, although so far, I’m doing really well to get to a Zumba class once a week, and not stay perpetually on the wrong foot through the various truly fun dance moves in Zumba. Maybe skating someday, if and when I’ve become ‘lithe’ enough to feel I could risk it without constantly risking my wrists/hands to falls. xxx,

  3. Chris says:

    Sound slike deft use of the Moran can as a counter-weight. Hang in there, I’m sure someday you’ll be the best of the Mohicans.

Leave a Reply

