Happy Birthday to Me

Today is my birthday and I chose to celebrate by getting up at 7 to be at the roller rink at 8.  30 minutes of warm-up, and then a –session? class? practice? I dunno what to call it– with my coach, Doug.  I am learning artistic roller skating.

Artistic roller Skating is NOT:

  • Cool jumps and turns to music like ice skaters in the Olympics–that’s freestyle
  • Having an cool alias and racing women around a track like a demon–that’s Derby.
  • Grooving to the beat and looking cooler than shit–that’s jam skating

Notice the word “cool” in all those descriptions?  Artistic skating is learning rigidly defined dances set to extremely cheesy organ music and skating endless figures on the floor with deep concentration until you get them perfect. It is the opposite of cool.  And I love it.

There’s one more thing you have to know.  I kinda suck.  I often lurch around the rink, in the words of my husband, like Frankenstein. I freeze up when I try to go backwards. I straighten my legs when I should be bending them.  I look at my feet, even though I know that won’t help. I am afraid to wear the little short practice dresses because I don’t like my legs.  I don’t trust my balance. So, yeah, lots of suckage going on.

During this year , I am going to work on mastering this non-cool skill and to understand why I love it so. I hope you will join me via this little blog dealio right here.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Happy Birthday to Me

  1. -t says:

    Go you with your non-cool self!

    Is there a way to subscribe via RSS? Because I would like to but I can’t immediately see how to do it.

  2. I don’t know, but I will see if I can figure out a way to enable that.

  3. Happy birthday to you, and I am eager to read your blog! I’m very proud of your accomplishments, and I know this will be a fun ride.

  4. L. Crampton says:

    Yaaay, Robin! I don’t know how to subscribe via RSS, but I get around that problem by having Google Reader go out there and gather the latest posts for my faves, of which this has just become one!! Happy skating. You do not suck. Seriously. At anything.

  5. Erin Griggs says:

    I love the re-work! I think it looks much jazzier and fits in with your topic well!

    Eager to hear about youru adventures.

  6. Lise Offerman says:

    You’re not uncool, you’re redefining cool.

  7. Didi Sinclair says:

    Coolest, bestest chick I know! Happy Birthday!!!!!!! xoxoxoxoxo

  8. SailAweigh says:

    You are making me miss being on wheels like whoa. I took skating lessons for three years in high school, both artistic and freestyle. I’m not up for any of that freestyle stuff anymore, I’d break something for sure, but now I really wish I knew where my old skates were! I love the cheesy organ music!

  9. Anonymous says:

    That’s my coach’s name too. Since you’re in N. Hollywood I was just thinking we may be at the same rink (and around the same age.)

Leave a Reply

